Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Spelling Bee.jpg​​​Spelling Bee.jpg Spelling Bee.jpgSpelling Bee.jpgSpelling Bee.jpgSpelling Bee.jpgSpelling Bee.jpg

Spelling Bee

The Southeast Regional Spelling Bee was held on Saturday, February 23, 2019, on the USD Campus in Vermillion, SD. Scotland Middle School Representatives were Katelyn Jonas and Isabelle Henry. There were twenty-four regional participants and these students did a nice job of representing Scotland Middle School and our community. 

The Scripps National Spelling Bee is an educational promotion sponsored by the E.W. Scripps Company in conjunction with over 260 newspapers around the world. Its purpose is to help students improve their spelling, increase their vocabulary, learn concepts, and develop correct English usage that will help them all their lives. The 2018 Scripps National Spelling Bee will involve more than ten million students at the local level and over 270 national finalists. 

The National Spelling Bee Week 2018 will take place May 26–31, 2019. Visit beginning May 1, 2019, to access a full Bee Week schedule.

Congratulations to this year's participants!!

​Katelyn Jonas and Isabelle Henry - 2019
 Past participants                                                                                                                            

IMG_1247.JPG      IMG_1282.JPG
Tatum Andretta, Patience Starwalt, & Alexander Calhoon - 2018 IMG_1275.JPGAlexander Calhoon - 2nd place written Spelling Bee

  IMG_9014.JPG                                                                                                                                                       Lillian​ Bell, Taya Bult, and Claire Janish - 2017                 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        IMG_6595.JPG               IMG_6600.JPG               IMG_2368.JPG

        Taya Bult - 2016                                            Paige Raker, Taya Bult, and Luke Kavanagh - 2015                                Zach Radcliffe, Mason Dennis, and Michael Lange - 2014                                              

 ​Kristina Hlavac, Dallas Fuerst, and Kerry Cosman - 2013       Kyra Sundleaf, Logan Fischer, and Kerry Cosman - 2012                 Kyra, Kerry, and Logan - 2012


     Sawyer Schmitz, Emily Hagge, and Dymond Johnson - 2011                 Hannah Mogck, Josh Vaith, and Anthony Radcliffe - 2010                     Kennidy Asche - 2009 Regional Spelling Bee - 2nd place

        Kennidy Asche - 2008 Regional Spelling Bee - 1st place, placed 6th at the State Competition